News Release  September 23, 2009


Cycling association gets new president, awards local cyclists for international achievements

REGINA — The Saskatchewan Cycling Association members elected Barret Kropf of Caronport as their new president, during the Association’s annual general meeting held September 20 in Prince Albert. Kropf takes over from Wayne Walker of Saskatoon, who stepped down after four years in the position.

Bob Cochran of Regina was elected Vice-President, Recreation and Transportation, and Peter Steckhan of Saskatoon as Vice-President, Development.

Members elected Susan Bladyko and Jay Van Ginneken to the Development Committee, responsible for athlete and coaching development, and Cory Zetterstrom and Frank Matus to the High Performance Committee, which assists athletes to compete in national and international events.

The association also awarded members for their volunteer and performance achievements during the past year.

Don Wilson of Regina received the award for Outstanding Volunteer in the Recreation Sector, for his work as tour director of the Wascana Freewheelers club and a member of the Saskatchewan Cycling Association’s recreation and transportation committee, as well as for his role in planning and supporting the Great Annual Saskatchewan Pedal (GASP) provincial tour.

Rick Vircavs of Regina received Outstanding Volunteer in the Road Sector, awarded for road, track and cyclo_cross racing. Vircavs was nominated for his “awesome job as manager of the Canada Games team” and for building productive relationships with athletes.

Paul Levett of Regina was awarded Outstanding Volunteer in the Mountain Bike Sector for managing the Wednesday night race series for the Offroad Syndicate club and events for the Regina Cycling Club.

Andrew Thomas of Lumsden won two awards. He received Outstanding Achievement in Mountain Biking for his two, back_to_back, Top Ten finishes in the Elite category at Canada Cup races in Edmonton and Canmore, placing second and first, respectively, in these events in the U23 (under age 23) category. The nomination noted that such a performance has never been achieved by a Saskatchewan cyclist before now.

Thomas was also awarded Outstanding Achievement in Cyclo_cross for his fourth place finish at the 2009 National U23 Cyclo-cross championships, held in Edmonton last October, and for his selection to the National U23 Cyclo-cross team that competed in Hoogerheide, Netherlands in January.

Julia Garnet of Saskatoon received the Wotton Bowl, awarded for road and track racing, for her selection to the National Junior Time Trial and Road Team that raced at the Road World Championships in Moscow in August. Garnet made the team after taking first place in time trial and fourth in road at the Junior Nationals in Quebec in July.

Arnold Boldt of Moose Jaw received the Ken Wilson Achievement Award, presented in memory of veteran racer, commissaire and volunteer Ken Wilson to recognize an outstanding personal result in a timed cycling event. Boldt finished first in the 36-km road race and second in the 20-km time trial in LC3 para_category (above the knee amputation) over a non_traditional, hilly course.

Five-year volunteer plaques: Don Wilson (Regina); Steve Vercoe (North Battleford); Grant Thies (Regina); Tom Landine (Esterhazy); and Shelley Horn (Prince Albert).

10-year volunteer plaque: Mike Bazinet (Regina).

15-year volunteer plaque: Ron Horn (Prince Albert).

Executive committee members elected in 2008 and continuing their two-year terms: Brian Fergusson (Regina), Vice-President, Finance and Administration; Patty Thomas (Lumsden), Vice-President, High Performance; and Darrell Noakes, Vice-President, Public Relations.


For more information, please contact:

Denise Eberle, Executive Director, Regina: (306) 780_9299, E_mail:

Darrell Noakes, Vice-President Public Relations, Saskatoon: (306) 343-6399,

More information about the Saskatchewan Cycling Association:

Don Wilson receiving his volunteer award from Bob Cochran

Frank Matus receiving his CMAP award

Shelley Horn receiving her 5 year achievement award